I truly wish I would die

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Guyonthelake

Reaction score
I am a registered nurse and see people lose their loved ones frequently. I often wonder why a lonely 49yo man like myself keeps living when these folks loved ones suffer so much. I truly believe I'll die an old man alone. Why them and not me? Where is the justice in that? Do you know what it's like to be jealous of the dead?

The way I see it is that being lonely and feeling any despair that comes with it is still better than the nothingness of death. Which is why I never understood suicide; except in extreme cases, but even then. Besides, you dying won't bring anyone back. The world is better having you in it to care for these people. I feel for you though. But you never know what tomorrow brings. Keep enduring.

And no, I've never envied the dead.

I often think if I really got to the point where I wanted to end my life I would empty my bank account and just start walking from town to town through the countryside country to country until I felt there was a new life for me and something worth living for. If I didn't find it and still wanted to end my life it would always be a last option but tbh there is always something new to see.

Where is the justice in them having lived a life full of love and loved ones and you being lonely? Everyone's time will come, we can only hope for a life well lived. If you truely have no ties perhaps a change, away from a job living with death and grieving will give you that opportunity. If you would really rather swap places with the dead it sounds as you have nothing to lose so why not take a look around this vast planet and discover whats out there for you?

Theres always a better option waiting for you, never give up.