Isolated at work

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rogerwaters

Reaction score
This goes for almost 10 months: at work I started to isolate from everyone and this week a new person joined my department - she noted I was away from everyone and on her second day (!) she asked what I was up to and why was I like that: thank God my phone rang and the conversation ended! :cool:

Do you think it can cause trouble being like this? I can't fake and pretend I like the people I work with and talk to them about fcking weather and how the weekend is near...

Yes. If you don't get along with your coworkers this can cause tension and when it comes around to making cutbacks your head could be on the chopping block. Employers just don't evaluate your performance but how you get along with coworkers as well. As a manager I've done this sort of thing. When I employed students through a provincially funded program part of the their evaluation forms were how well they got along with others. Same thing when giving recommendations, one of the things they ask is how the person gets along with others. Even if you don't enjoy it, it is always a good idea to try and mingle with your coworkers and show you can work cohesively.

+1

Sci-Fi said:
Yes. If you don't get along with your coworkers this can cause tension and when it comes around to making cutbacks your head could be on the chopping block. Employers just don't evaluate your performance but how you get along with coworkers as well ...

It can be a bad thing depending on the job I think.