A different kind of loneliness, perhaps

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tramp

Reaction score
So I've been a member for a while now, but haven't really managed a post until now. While there are quite a few threads that I would like to respond to, I figured it would be a better idea to introduce myself first, so that people could get to know a little about me.

As I mentioned, I have gone through a number of posts here and I believe I suffer from loneliness of a rather different kind. While the core of the problem is the same, the parameters are not so common (or so I think).

I am a 23 year old male who does not necessarily have trouble mixing with people and making friends. I work as a software engineer and love what I do. I go out with friends and colleagues now and then and share good times with them. Yet, I feel lonely. I feel a void, as if something is missing in life.

I am not really an extrovert either, which makes me a good talker once I get to know someone, but I find it difficult to maintain contact. I may have fun with friends one day, but will be very lonely for a good few weeks or even months before engaging in social activities again. There are too many weekends (like this one, for example) when everyone else seems to be busy with their friends/significant others, and I find myself browsing the internet at home and such, wishing I had people to go out and watch a movie or share some drinks with.

Then there are times when I don't feel very comfortable with the way I look. These are times when I wish I were better looking. I have had a few relationships, but things haven't gone too well lately, and I believe that may have something to do with this feeling.