Are you a Homo Sapiens or Homo Interneticus?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vng2015

Reaction score
BBC has coined the term Homo Interneticus. Homo Interneticus does not have any offline friends. They are addicted either to talking/arguing online, or playing video games or worse.

I like arguing online. I have about 12,000 posts on many forums -- half in Russian half in English.

For a few of my teen years I was 100% a homo Interneticus lol now, not so much...

lonelypanda said:
For a few of my teen years I was 100% a homo Interneticus lol now, not so much...

How did you return from being a Homo Interneticus? I am a Homo Interneticus more then ever.

TheRealCallie said:
One would guess by going out to join the "real" world.

I am 45. I am a mostly unpaid intern -- working at home. I do not drive due to Asperger's and Depression. I simply have no access to society. I am not asocial.

I am trying to find telephone friends.

vng2015 said:
TheRealCallie said:

I am 45. I am a mostly unpaid intern -- working at home. I do not drive due to Asperger's and Depression. I simply have no access to society. I am not asocial.

I am trying to find telephone friends.

All I see there are a bunch of excuses. Sorry, but if you really want to do it, you would find a way.

I'm not saying you have to, I'm just saying all you did in that last post of yours was give excuses. If you don't want to go out into the world and be social, that's cool and it's your right. There's nothing wrong with that.

TheRealCallie said:
If you don't want to go out into the world and be social, that's cool and it's your right.

I am sorry. I am sort of OK with my situation, and not looking for big changes.

The only thing I really lack is offline friendship -- even phone friendship.

vng2015 said:
TheRealCallie said: