Down the Rabbit Hole

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NeverMore

Reaction score
I figured I'd let everyone know how I've been, though I don't know if anyone I know still comes around or not; if not then I hope others find something relatable in my story. I didn't put this in success stories because it is not one. I graduated from college with a degree in biology spring of 2011 and manged to find work with a couple of professors for 6 months afterwards. Nothing glamorous, I basically maintained the research fields by keeping them weed free and watered, lol. I spent six months after the job had ended mucking around trying to find a graduate program. I was set to attend grad school way back in September of this year, got accepted and everything. It was in an Agricultural program, I figured I could put my love of plants to a practical purpose and give myself a better shot at getting a job than if I had just gone into a generic Botany program, seemed perfect right?

Well... Shortly after getting orientated into the program, I had what one might classify as a nervous breakdown. The day I was set to attend my first lecture I found that I instead drove to my sister's house over an hour away where I informed my family that I would be dropping out of grad school. Much to my surprise, they didn't seem to mind, though they did raise concerns (rightly so) about my mental health and suggested I see someone which I agreed to.