Driving on the freeway.

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gyneco

Reaction score
Any tips for beginners? I've been driving for two years and for the most part I'm, uh, not a bad driver. The only thing I'm still queasy about is doing a lane change. I have mild OCD and I have to check the mirror and look over my shoulder multiple times before I dare make my move. While doing that, I sometimes fail to realize that the car of me isn't moving anymore. Sometimes I misjudge the speed of the car in the other lane or fail to see the car in my blind spot. Either way, the 146 times I did a lane change during busy hours I got honked and/or the finger 137 times. I always thought I'd never drive on the freeway, but desperate times call for desperate measures. Help!

A few suggestions...
1. On the Freeway, faster tends to be safer (as long as it's not -too- fast! :p). You're more likely to get hit driving slower than the rest of traffic.
2. Get your blinker going early and wait for a fair space in the next lane over.
3. Merge over gradually. Not slow, but not fast. Too slow and the other drivers will try to get by you, too fast and you'll get flipped off more ;)
4. Keep being careful! :) Just look in front of you, too.
5. Accelerate as you make your change as long as it won't cause you to hit the car infront of you.
6. Remember the 3 second following rule.

All in all, I hate driving on the freeway too. I'm a country boy. :) If you have a 2 lane highway/one way street anywhere, practice there first would be my suggestion.

I almost honeysuckle in my pants the first time i drove in San Degio.
I almost honeysuckle in my pants again a couple of time on I-5.
They even called I-5 formula1 racing for a while..lmao

Sometimes you really have to be an agressive driver while
on the freeway in the city