I'm quitting computer games!

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stranger

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've made a big decision today! A few years ago, I've been addicted to this computer game called Runescape. I didn't play it for a long time, but a few months ago I started playing again. It's a horribly addictive game - you advance by doing a lot of repetitive tasks to build up your "skills", and the more you advance, the longer it takes to reach a new level. Well, I realized that it was really damaging my work performance, straining my eyes, and even putting me into this really bad "loser" frame of mind. It has been sucking my motivation and willpower all these months.

So today I'm quitting this game forever. I gave away all my "items", and it was just so sickening to see how other people were fighting for them... the items are not even real things! The only real thing in this game is the wasted time... so, no more Runescape for me :) Tomorrow I will get up and get straight to work, and if I want to take a break, I will go outside and get some fresh air. I'm posting this here to strengthen my commitment. HOORAY!

Are any of you also struggling with computer games? Thinking of quitting? Quit in the past? Have any useful advice?

runescape eh? it is very addictive and time consuming i have played it on and off since rs2 came out i still have my file but i dont pay for it anymore, i dont even log on anymore its just on a server somewhere :) you will feel better very quickly after giving up to be honest you will start to question when you ever had the time for games :D