In Long-Term Relationship - Should I stay or go?

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Astral_Punisher

Reaction score
Newbie here, first thread, be nice :p.

Been in a long term relationship for 6 years - I'm now 26, and male.

My girlfriend and I have lived together for most of our relationship, but currently, we are in different locations as I study to enter the trades (good work, good pay - can support a family, etc.). It is during this period that I have thought about how I don't really miss her (or anyone for that matter).

I have often felt like I have little in common with her, although she is generally nice to me, and is popular with others in her social circle. She is a generally good person.

We hardly do anything together, as we share very few common interests. She also seems to have a very short attention span whenever I start to talk. I tend to read books, and listen to her much of the time.

Please note that I have never, ever really felt attached to anyone, not family, not friends. I wouldn't call anyone I know 'friends' of mine, and even in the forced social interaction groups that I put myself into to reduce my ineptitude with others, I really don't care about any of them.
The only people I've shed tears for is my cat.
So, I guess you could say I do not 'love' my girlfriend, at least in the way I suppose most people measure 'love'.

We do have sex - it is satisfying, but really, I feel hollow about the entire thing. I wish I could simply shut off that part of myself, so I didn't need the release at all. That would be awesome. *sigh*

What should I do?