I've learned it's pointless to spend time and energy on anything

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

el Jay

Reaction score
So earlier today, a game development project I've been working on with some others for over 3 years got officially terminated. And with that being the case, I can now officially say that every single project that I've started or been involved in over the past eight years has ended in failure, with me being no richer, smarter, or even necessarily wiser for the effort. Just more cynical, jaded, and burnt out.

Every time I've attempted to seriously put my time and effort into making something work, it falls apart. Maybe in some cases I didn't do all I could have, but the problem is always that other people involved get tired of it, or give up, or just disappear and don't let anyone know what happened. Or one of a myriad other things. And all I'm left with, when it's all said and done, is a few scraps of work here and there. Nothing of any real significance or size, and nothing I could show other people as evidence of my effort that wouldn't broadcast the huge numbers of failures my name would then be attached to.

Someone tell me: what is there in this world worth spending my time and energy on? What is there that won't fail despite any effort I put forth, and won't just waste my time? Is there anything at all I can devote myself to, that will not only be worth the effort involved, but that I can look at before it's even done and think "I've made a lot of progress, and when it is complete, it will be that much more amazing?"