New Here...

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

exasperated

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a female in my mid-thirties in the northeast (US.) I have a Master's Degree and an interesting job that I love. However, I have no family or friends. The only have I have is Mother who is verbally abusive and toxic for me to be around due to a mental illness.

I live in a relatively small town that is predominately 55+. I have had friendships over the years that have drifted apart and many unfortunately have turned out to be hurtful relationships. I actually enjoy being social and have been very actively involved in my community meeting new people. If it hard or me to find people I connect with here. I am not real big on small talk, but I love philosophical and intellectual discussions. I enjoy art, music (indie), NPR, talking about social issues, nonfiction books, food/wine and people with a sardonic sense of humor. I loved to meet people here with similar interests to chat and help deal with our loneliness. I write music (singer/songwriter type stuff), play a little guitar, sing, write (lyrics, nonfiction/humor, screenplays) and I love road trips with the perfect playlist soundtrack. I love browsing locally owned record stores and bookshops. There is not a lot of culture where I live so I try to get away when I can.

Feel free to message me if we have stuff in common, I would be happy to chat!

Welcome to Lonely Life. :)

I can certainly empathise with you for having an abusive Mother, though thankfully mine is living in faraway India. She was about as toxic as they came whereas Dad was wonderful. It broke my heart when he died...

Anyway, like you I need some online friendship so returned here after many moons ago, and can only hope to be positive about this.