Newbie here

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

winterlights08

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm happy to have found this site, I stumbled upon it while feeling sort of down and gloomy. It's been a weird sort of few weeks and I've been thinking a lot and missing the past. I don't really know where to begin about me...I'm a stay at home mom to four kids, divorced and remarried. How I managed that I do not know. I have no friends to speak of, I can count the good friends I've had during my life on one hand (and three of those were in elementary school!) My ex says I alienate people. I don't know if that's true. I know I'll never have tons of friends, I'd really just be happy with one good friend.

I've tried putting ads on craigslist, and I've talked through email with a couple of other moms. But I always say the wrong thing or something and I never hear from them again. One mom just "dumped" me and then had the nerve to put up another ad. I guess I didn't fit the bill of the "close friend" she was looking for. We talked for a couple of months and we were going to meet soon. I'd love to know what I said that was off-putting, so I know for next time. Or I'll meet one and it's totally awkward and just small talk and then I never see them again. I've reconnected with two old friends on facebook, but after my last message I never heard from them again. I don't know what's wrong with me. I'm very introverted, very shy. I've tried things like parenting groups (no one really talks to me) and I went to a knit/crochet group but it was all old women except for two younger women and they must be shy also because no one talked to me. I tried talking but I feel like I don't say "normal things". Maybe I try too hard.