Something about me

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

iris

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm Iris.

I'm 26, I live with my father and I don't have a job. I haven't had any job for the last 3 years. During the last year I went back to college and I graduated with an undergraduate degree, but at least I finished something. For the last 4 months I've been looking for a job but didn't find any and now I'm afraid no one would hire me, or if someone would, they would immediately fire me. The main problem is that during the last 3 years I lived rather isolated and I lost my social skills, poor as they were, at least I had some, I think. After I lost my last job, three years ago, I became highly depressed and I didn't want to get out of the house, I became forum-addicted, I began to avoid my real life friends and spent all the time in front of the computer, on the internet. Now I only have two best friends but they left the country, they both have exceptional jobs, unlike me, boyfriends and live good lives. I only socialize with my family, rarely with someone else, but I have to admit I don't feel the need to have any friends, I like my lonely life. I also developed psychosis about 2 years ago (after breaking up with my boyfriend) I've been delusional for about a year, then I tried to kill myself and ended up in a mental institution for a month, period during which I realized my delusions weren't real and came back to reality. Now I'm fine, I take medication, it's just that I don't have a social life, I'm very inactive and my main problem is that I don't want to be dependent of someone else (my father provides for me, and sometimes my mother), I want to be able to look after myself (I have no respect for people who aren't financially independent, like my sister for example, who is a housewife) but I'm afraid