The Cali Conundrum

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smitty

Reaction score
I am a 21-year-old college student who is finishing up his Associates degree. I am about to transfer to a full-fledged university in February, but before I do, I have an important conundrum to address. I have been dating a girl for a while and everything clicks on all cylinders. We've even used the big, scary "L" word and meant it. She really is more than I could have ever hoped for. The problem now is that she is leaving for northern California in 5 months. She absolutely hates Maryland (where we live), but with very good reason. She is also very firm about leaving.

My choice now is whether to go with her or stay here. Here is what I've come up with as far as pros and cons:

- Stay here -

Pros: Financial Stability (I live with my Aunt so I'm not paying rent or utilities), On track to earn a Bachelor's Degree in less than two years, Friends are still around

Cons: Kicking myself in the head for not going with her, might never find this kind of connection again, could make the biggest mistake of my life by not going, will probably never go to California

- Go with her -

Pros: Get to stay with her, get out of my Aunt's house, become more independent, make a new start in a new place, work toward something, it would be more adventurous than my current, safe life

Cons: Unsure of which university I could transfer to and when I would finish my Bachelor's, extreme and struggling finances (especially with apartment rates...even studio apartments aren't cheap in Northern Cal.), Have no relatives or friends in California, would become a semester or more behind in my hunt for a Bachelor's degree