thinking i'm worthless

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

missymessy

Reaction score
I never used to have low self-esteem. I was a performing arts student for Gods sake!
...While we would be waiting to go on stage, other members of the class would have shaking knees and would be turning to me for advice and counsel on why I didn't seem to suffer from nerves.

"what exactly are you frightened of? and why does it even matter?"

That was always my response. If I'm honest, I felt fairly invincible. I thought I was amazing.
And I guess, in thinking that...I geniunley was. If you get what I mean.
I look back at pictures from that era and I'm always smiling. Outlandishly dressed because I had the confidence to be. My skin was glowing and radiant.
I look back at photos from that era and I long for that girl to return... She was pretty, she was vivacious, lively, confident and HAPPY. Most of all she was bloody happy.

But now... about 5 years down the road... urgh. Everything has dribbled away. Progressive illness and the isolation that brings has taken my social life, my education opportunities, my job prospects....and worst of all...my self belief.

I don't feel invincible anymore. I feel worthless. What have I achieved? What will I ever achieve? What am I worth? What do I have to offer anyone? Why should I bother talking to anyone when I have so little of import to say? Why would anyone WANT to be my friend?

and so on and so on...

Friends have all gone on to secure amazing careers/lives, which makes me feel so much worse, because it only serves to accentuate the fact that I've achieved NOTHING.