You Win Some You Lose All

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vic Sage

Reaction score
I found this forum through Wikipedia of all places. I'm also going to resist the urge to make any of these details specific lest someone come across this and recognize any of them.

I am a non-traditional student who has recently endured two break-ups, one as breaker and the other as breakee. I feel horrible about both of them.

I was in a long-term (more than one year less than five) live-in relationship with someone I met online. When we met I was in a bad place, feeling depressed and directionless. She was presumably lonely as well, though she went on dates she never had a relationship before. We eventually met and I moved to be with her. She helped me find a job, enroll in school. Things started out great, naturally, but as time went on cracks appeared, as they'll appear in at least half of marriages and who knows how many other relationships.

I suppose I felt things getting stagnant. I felt I, and we, weren't growing, spending too much time at home or online. Both being shy, we didn't meet too many new people and spent probably too much time together. I didn't feel the same spark as I once did, and she noticed, causing many serious talks and ending with promises.

I met someone in a class this year and began to correspond with her. As time went on she expressed an interest in me, and I felt one in her as well. Eventually my previous ex sensed my growing distance, and after a discussion we agreed on a "break", wherein I moved out and we would see what would happen. I began to date the younger, newer girl.