dating someone ur not attracted to

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jayme89

Reaction score
For the last 5 years since I graduated high school, I've talked on and off with a guy friend I was in class with. He would try to pursue a relationship with me but I had no interest being that I was away in college and we also never talked much in HS. Now that I've moved back home he has been pursuing me much more and is convinced we should be together. He really is a nice guy and has most the intellectual and character traits I want in a guy. He's talked about me to his friends and family and goes really out of his way to get my attention. Plus he's been pursing me for 5 years basically which i know is really special. My main issue is I am not physically or sexually attracted to him...at all. Mainly cuz he's really really overweight. Yes, he could loose weight but hasn't for the last 5 years so I don't see that changing anytime soon. I don't want to be seen as picky because I don't consider myself a looker at all. But does that mean that I should just take what I get? I've just recently started putting myself out there more and I kinda feel like i don't want to settle. What are your thoughts of dating someone your not attracted to but is your ideal match in other areas? Do you think attraction will eventually grow?

jayme89 said: