I'm not sure what to do with my mementos.

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ready RSG

Reaction score
So, earlier I wrote a letter. To my girlfriend. I posted it on the forum. She died long ago from accident.

I know its stupid to post something like that but for some reason it makes me feel better to know that someone else read it or is going to read it and that everything I wanted to say isn't all bottled up inside.

I've been secretly mourning her loss for years. I just don't want anybody to know I'm still bothered by it. I met her my freshman year of high school she died shortly after I graduated.We were living together for a few months. Recently I found some old pictures I took of her. I've been wondering is it okay to keep them.I've been mourning her longer than I've actually known her the 7th anniversary of her death will be this summer.

Should I delete the pictures? just the idea of getting rid of them feels like a betrayal. Like throwing away our time. Its my only physical evidence that we were together. I'm still carrying a pendant from a old necklace she wore. I know I should move on but what is moving on? I accept she's gone. I'm alive. She is dead. Keeping these mementos makes me feel mixed emotions. Happiness, sadness, loneliness and nostalgia. I'm not sure what to do.

You would be crazy not to mourn her, to keep those momentos.
I read your letter. I think you should use those photos if you want. Your family shouldn't think you're crazy. Why would you be embarassed? Death is an extremely important thing to everyone.
They might think you're crazy not to mourn her, but they probably know you're still mourning and just doing it in your own way. Don't be afraid to let it show. It will only continue to hurt to hide it.