Imperfect is the new perfect

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mooosic

Reaction score
I just want to share this with you all because maybe it will help some of you.

Leading up to my graduation, I was really, really depressed and my self esteem was LOW! Everyday I would come home from school, get on Facebook, see all of the beautiful people from school on Facebook, i barely ever had a picture of myself on facebook that had me smiling, and then go in my room and cry. (it's weird... I know) I always would think "how can I possibly look this way, while they look that way! And to make it worse, I constantly compared myself to my twin sister.(we're fraternal) I just thought I was ugly and noone liked me. But ok I don't want to bored anyone so I'll get to the point!

After I graduated, I slept sooooo much and thought alot about myself. I came on here and someone told me to write positive things about myself everyday. I admit, I was not consistent with it, but now my self esteem isn't so low! It's not great but it's not as bad as during school. I looked in the mirror one morning and was like ..."I'm not that ugly." that's when I knew I was starting to make progress. Now I'm like "I'm not ugly, oh my hair looks great today." I give myself compliments and it makes me feel great. I realized I said I was ugly so much to where I made myself actually believe it. So here's tips to anyone that has very low self esteem.

1.write something positive about your self everyday
2.start complimenting yourself
3.You're not ugly so stop saying you are. The more you say it, the worse you'll get
4. Have a good sleep.
5. The oh so popular one... Quit comparing yourself to others
6.and always remember... Imperfect is the new perfect :D that's what got me out of that low state!!!