So, this happens :(

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xpendable

Reaction score

It Happened To Me: I Ended Up In Bed With A 27-Year-Old Virgin
He waited until he was putting on a condom to inform me that he’d “never done this before.”

Here’s the thing: For the last few months, I've been on kind of a dating kick. But it ended recently because, well, honeysuckle got kind of real when a man I was thisclose to sleeping with told me (read: sputtered at me), "I've never done this before."

Good lord.

This is how it went:

After amicably (although profoundly sadly) ending my relationship with a man I loved very deeply, I had

to get my sea legs, so to speak. But really what I ended up getting was my sea drunkness. And my sea promiscuity.

Because damnit, I'm a confident 20something with a grown-ass job and it's Wednesday and I'm alive or whatever that quote from "Girls" is.

Anyway, I jumped into the seventh circle of Hell that is OKCupid and went on a bunch of dates. It was pretty easy to do -- I’m gainfully employed and live in a city where, statistically, women have the upper hand in the dating pool -- and I basically started kind of collecting men like Pokemon.

I'm not proud. OK, I'm a little proud.

In the midst of this Katamari ball of mostly-forgettable, frequently problematic men, I met one who was shy and sweet and seemingly well-adjusted. He had a real job and a real place to live and wasn't sketchy and didn't really seem into bullshitting around. He was cute and stylish and we had enough things to talk about, so I was hopeful that, while I wasn’t looking for a relationship, the idea of going out with someone kind and not-weird for a while sounded pretty appealing.

And he followed up with polite texts and liked to make plans, so we did go out a few times. Three times, to be exact.