The reason I get up in the morning

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PlayingSolo

Reaction score
There's only two things I can think of that I want out of my life: knowledge and love.

The first one is easy and simple. I'm going to school, studying mathematics. (disclaimer: this paragraph isn't meant to be me bragging. I realize math is a hard subject for many people) There isn't a field out there more fascinating than mathematics. I'm still an undergraduate and have much to learn, but I'm having such a blast soaking in all of this knowledge. I'm planning on going to graduate school next year. It's not just the math though. Simply being at a university with so many like-minded individuals waiting to be fed with knowledge is truly wondrous. I don't really talk to many people while I'm at school, I just try to enjoy it regardless (i have social anxiety, but that's a different issue from this post).

The second one is not so easy. Finding love is like trying to catch air in your hands. And even harder for someone with social anxiety. This is an issue that's been plaguing me for years. I found my first (and only) girlfriend about 3 years ago, and it lasted for almost one year. We realized we weren't right for each other, and that was that. But it left me with this yearning to have someone by my side. I think that's when my loneliness really amplified. Before I met her, I hardly thought about girls and having a girlfriend was the last thing on my mind. Honestly I never even considered it. But now I can't go a single day without wondering when I'll find that special someone.