Why I believe I do not look

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ovid

Reaction score
Just wanted to go through my mentality as to why I don't look for a girlfriend / partner.

I've never been a very secure person, and I think that rubs off on my personal relations. I just always seem to think of excuses as to why I don't look.

Some excuses in the past were:
"I'm studying and I have no idea if I will get a job afterward, so I shouldn't look for someone".

Then there was:
"I'm looking for a job, and still living at home, so I shouldn't look for someone".

Now, I have a good job (for 4 months now) and I am slowly becoming more responsible, but I still seem to think:
"I shouldn't look yet, because I don't know how secure my job is. If I lose it, I don't know if I can get another. I should wait until I get some more months/years experience, so that I can get employed again if I'm dismissed. Then I can look for someone".

Am I being unreasonable in thinking this way?
Will I continue making excuses?

Usually I am a very rational, logical person, but I cannot seem to figure out why I am so unsure of myself. I know that my greatest fear is failing and letting people down, which has an effect on why I am thinking this way. It's just hard to break out of this line of thinking.

I know what you mean but I think that if you did find someone, if they are a good person, they won't care about your current life situation and like/love you for who you are :)
I'm now rabidly trying to change my life and get myself a girlfriend even though-
1 I have very little money
2 I'm quite busy with my studies at uni
3 I may have to move house soon, could possibly be getting evicted.