Very lonely right now

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
S

skye1982

Hello,

I'm new and I'm really very lonely at the moment, I don't know who else to talk to so I thought I'd post how I'm feeling. I hope that's OK.

I've always found it really hard to make friends, I'm shy and usually pretty nervous around people. I can't remember having any friends in primary school, and I certainly didn't have any secondary school... quite the opposite in fact. In college I made quite a few friends, and they were really good friends then when I left to go to university, I lost contact with them all :(

I'm in my second year at university now and in that time I've made one friend... I think. We talk quite a bit but I kinda get the feeling he's not that interested in talking with me. I've emailed him a few times over the Christmas holidays and never got a reply. So I'm a bit unsure whether or not I've got a friend there.

I feel so lonely and whenever I think about the couple of friends I had in college, it destroys me. I wish I could turn back time and be in college again, they were some good times. I feel so sad, the pain inside hurts so much.

I'm sorry for the long winded post. I just needed to tell someone, anyone, how I'm feeling. It feels like I'm totally empty inside. When I feel sad my chest really hurts as if something is clutching it and won't let go. I don't know what to do with myself. I'm trying to take up photography as a hobby to take my mind off things, but I'm desperate to have a friend. Just one friend.