careers

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here's what I did. I went to college with no real plan of what I wanted to be. I enjoyed philosophy, so I got a BA in that. After I graduated, I couldn't find a job so I took what was supposed to be temporary work with a local lawyer. 11 years later I'm still there.

Do whatever the opposite of that is.

theraab said:
Here's what I did. I went to college with no real plan of what I wanted to be. I enjoyed philosophy, so I got a BA in that. After I graduated, I couldn't find a job so I took what was supposed to be temporary work with a local lawyer. 11 years later I'm still there.

so dont get stuck by being indecisive?
or dont get a job for a temporary amount of time and never quit?

I'm no expert, but I'd say to start narrowing it down both by what you're good at and what you think you could be good at with training.

running with pain said:
theraab said:

so dont get stuck by being indecisive?
or dont get a job for a temporary amount of time and never quit?

I meant the opposite of all of it; being indecisive; getting a degree that has no job prospects*; don't take a temp job and then never quit

*-if you find you are interested in a subject with no good job prospects, then get a double major with that and something employable. Frankly, if I could go back to 17 or 18, I probably would have skipped college and gone to a trade school to become an electrician or plumber - I think I would have enjoyed that sort of work more than office work (but that's just me) - and some skilled tradesmen make as much as doctors.

What do you like to do, like hobbies, etc?

Find something that makes the time pass really quickly (usually a good indicator that you enjoy that) and then try to see what kind of careers that can be connected to your interest!