Reliance

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Them always. Yourself only if you wanted to do the thing. If you didn't want to do the thing and didn't, good for you ☺️

I tend to be hard on myself.
Me too. For some reason I tend to take responsibility even when I've not agreed to what they have promised me to. What started this thought is me having spent two years remodeling my wife's house. Almost done. But she wants a laminate floor laid down. I've already finished the floors in two bathrooms, the kitchen and the dining room. All that's left is the living room.

So my son mentioned me doing the living room floors. I told him I wasn't going to do it. That left him a little speechless. The thing is I said I'd finish her kitchen and I got roped into the dining room too.

I have a project I've been chasing for five years. It got put off for three because her house of then needed so much work. Well, she bought another house without thought to the work it needed. I guess because I was always there to do it.

If I don't get started on my project it could possibly become pointless, or at least more difficult. So, I don't want to finish the floors. My son can do it for his mum. But there is that thing where I have always been the one to make everything better.

So I need to do my project but part of me is yelling 'just take a week and do the effing floor.' Why do I feel guilty for not doing something they expect me to do?

Me too. For some reason I tend to take responsibility even when I've not agreed to what they have promised me to. What started this thought is me having spent two years remodeling my wife's house. Almost done. But she wants a laminate floor laid down. I've already finished the floors in two bathrooms, the kitchen and the dining room. All that's left is the living room.