Some Perspective on Loneliness

Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum

Help Support Loneliness, Depression & Relationship Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

IambicBlonde

Reaction score
Hello, all. I just recently joined and have been reading a lot of the posts here. Lots of different people with many different experiences. I thought I'd share mine to hopefully give kindship to those like me, or offer something for those seeking perspective on their own loneliness.

I've always been an introvert. As a kid I was an only child living in a small town away from my friends at school. As a teenager I never felt comfortable with (or much knew) who I was, so I went with the flow, mimicking what others did, and doing/thinking/talking like them. School allowed me to interact with others, but I was a drone without an authentic identity. But once I graduated high school and separated from my friends I was able to finally think for myself and view the world beyond how others did. But it also meant I had to do it on my own.

I spent the majority of my twenties and early thirties completely alone. A recluse. Learning about poetry, art, politics, worldy culture but not having people in which to share that with. I used my new-found intellect to convince myself that I didn't need others. That being a loner was a badge of pride. That delusion thrived for quite awhile. But never having a girlfriend, never experiencing intimacy or enlightenment from another person took its toll. For years I didn't even talk to another soul outside of my family. And rarely them. Fortunately though they supported me. But I reached the end. I made a decision to engage the world again. In babysteps. Taking walks. Being around people. Getting a job and working with others. I'm still an introvert. I'm still shy. But I have an identity now. And at least I'm giving myself an opportunity to meet people.